Forgiven

I have read Forgiven by Paul Tullis too many times to count. With every cause comes an effect and with life comes death. This summer I have read many novels and articles about people dying, that sounds depressing and scary, but if you are scared of death then you are scared to live.

Conor McBride murdered his girlfriend while his family was on vacation. What strikes me as odd is that his family went on vacation without him. Family vacation without your son? Maybe they can photoshop Conor sporting his orange jumpsuit into the photos.

Ann, Conor’s girlfriend, was known as the girl to confide in others problems. Conor, who obviously had family issues, was Ann’s project, until he murdered her. Conor’s guilt ate him alive. I can not confidently say that Ann made Conor a better person when she was alive, but Conor’s actions after the murder made him seem like a “good guy.” Without a doubt, Ann’s parents are some of the best people I have ever read about. Kate Grosmaire (Ann’s mom):

“Tell him [Conor] I love him, and I forgive him.”

Forgiveness is a funny thing. I always forgive people. If I do not forgive, the event keeps replaying in my head and becomes part of my daily thoughts. Kate Grosmaire states:

“Forgiveness for me was self-preservation.”

When I forgive someone I learn from the situation for future circumstances instead of living in the unchangeable past.

I am currently reading The Walk Series by Richard Paul Evans, in the third novel, The Road to Grace, I believe Evan’s explains forgiveness perfectly:

“To forgive is to unlock the cage of another’s folly to set ourselves free.”

Leave a comment